Potential Partnership and Support Letter: Censored Planet + Open Labs

Hi Open Labs!

As some of you might know, I currently work as a Designer and Research Associate at the University of Michigan where as part of R3 Lab and Censored Planet we measure internet censorship globally, including Albania as well. I’m writing here after talking with Mariana that this would be the best way to ask members.

I’m reaching out regarding your help with a funding proposal for Censored Planet, a platform which helps measure various types of interference on the Internet without the help of volunteer-run measurements. The project is founded by Roya Ensafi’s lab in the University of Michigan and I will lead the platform user experience and research.

This work is incredibly important to me and the team as we will be able to make internet censorship detection more powerful and offer a diversified set of tools and datasets, open to the public and hence digital advocacy organizations including Open Labs. Potential use cases could be automated open data sets of censored sites in Albania throughout time. We would be happy to collaborate with Open Labs in order to expose these events more publicly.

I’d be immensely grateful if you’d be able to help us out with a letter of support for this proposal. In order to justify the development of a real-time global data observatory, we would need to ensure that the measurement data can be put into good use. A letter of support would go a long way for this. Would Open Labs be willing to help us with that?

Context: