Open Source Cybersecurity Workshop

(Daniel Bohannon) #1

Mirëdita! My name is Daniel Bohannon and I am a security researcher in the US for a company called Mandiant/FireEye. Over the past 8 years in the IT industry (and 5 years in security) I have developed several open source projects related to obfuscation and detection (listed at the end).

What I love more than CREATING open source projects is:

1. encouraging others to get involved in Open Source projects
  2. introducing people to opportunities in cybersecurity
  3. showing various ways people can get involved in the cybersecurity industry if they are interested

Is there any interest in one or both of the following presentations topics (light, interactive workshops) at Open Labs Albania any day from February 15, 2019 through March 16, 2019?

Topic 1 Title: Getting Into InfoSec via Open Source

This presentation is an overview of the vast career opportunities (both technical and non-technical) in the field of InfoSec (Information Security). This is meant to expose ICT enthusiasts to the wide array of career opportunities and community projects available in the InfoSec industry. In addition, this will highlight the numerous ways that Open Source can help you enter into the InfoSec community whether it is Open Source coding contributions, Open Source Intelligence (OSINT) gathering/sharing, Open Data publication, helpful Twitter accounts and blogs to follow for various InfoSec information, etc.

Of particular importance is highlighting to users that there are ethical ways to “hack” to identify coding vulnerabilities and to help create secure code while defending against hacking attacks. Exposing users to these ethical routes will help deter them from joining lucrative, illegal hacking activities, and will show them how they can benefit their community using their passions and skills.